Larson Appointed Fire Chief

Andrew Larson Appointed Fire Chief
Posted on 02/15/2019
Fire Chief Larson
Andrew Larson has been appointed as the new Fire Chief for the Village of Arlington Heights effective immediately, announced Village Manager Randy Recklaus. After 22 service years with the Arlington Heights Fire Department, most recently serving as Acting Fire Chief since November 15, 2018, Chief Larson’s extensive experience will serve him well in his leadership of the Fire Department.

“Chief Larson has demonstrated a passion, dedication, and vision for the Department and the men and women who serve in it. I know he will continue to build upon the long traditions of innovation and success of the Arlington Heights Fire Department,” said Village Manager Recklaus. “His leadership will positively impact the essential services provided to our community.”

Chief Larson will be the Village’s 6th Fire Chief since the Department changed from a Volunteer Department to a full-time paid Fire Department in 1958. His fire service career in Arlington Heights started in 1997 when he joined the Department as a Firefighter.

After starting as Firefighter, Chief Larson rose through the ranks successfully holding the positions of Instructor at the Arlington Heights Training Academy, Firefighter/Paramedic, Firefighter/Engineer, Shift Lieutenant, Incident Safety Officer, Public Education Lieutenant, Battalion Chief, Deputy Chief since 2017 followed by his service as Acting Fire Chief since November 2018.

Chief Larson’s education includes a Master’s of Public Administration after also receiving a Bachelor of Science in Fire Service and an Associate in Applied Science, Fire Science. He has also earned over 12 certifications from the Office of the Illinois State Fire Marshal and several certifications from the Federal Emergency Management Agency – NIMS (National Incident Management System). 

Under Chief Larson’s leadership, the Arlington Heights Fire Department of 110 full-time employees will provide residents and businesses with fire protection service, emergency medical services (EMS) and other rescue functions. The Department consists of four Divisions, Administrative, Fire Suppression, Emergency Medical and Training.